Qualifications levels

The Queensland Certificate of Education is the state’s highest school qualification. There are 10 at tertiary level (post school education). These are recognised nationally.

The qualification levels are:

  1. Certificate I
  2. Certificate II
  3. Certificate III
  4. Certificate IV
  5. Diploma
  6. Advanced Diploma/Associate Degree
  7. Bachelor Degree
  8. Bachelor Honours Degree/Graduate and Vocational Graduate Certificate/Graduate and Vocational Graduate Diploma
  9. Masters Degree
  10. Doctoral Degree

Trò chơi xổ số Việt NamIn general, universities offer courses at levels 5–10 and training organisations offer courses from levels 1 to 6. Some Queensland schools also offer certificate courses as part of Years 10–12.

National standards

Trò chơi xổ số Việt NamThe sets out what a student should be able to do once they finish their course. This means expectations of graduates' skill levels are the same across the country.

For example, Certificate I should give students basic skills for work, further learning, and living in the community. A diploma should give graduates advanced skills in an area of work or learning (e.g. business, information technology, hospitality).

See an easy guide to .

Study time

Trò chơi xổ số Việt NamHow long it takes to finish a course will vary depending on your existing qualifications and experience, the course you choose and the way you study (e.g. full- or part-time).

There is generally no set study time for vocational education and training courses (like certificates and diplomas). Students are awarded a qualification when they gain the required skills and knowledge.

As a broad guide, if you study full-time, it should take 4–18 months to complete certificate courses, and 1–2 years for diploma courses. Higher education courses, such as degrees, are usually delivered over a set time. A bachelor degree at university should take you 3–4 years to finish.

Related links