The Australian Honours System

Trò chơi xổ số Việt NamThe Australian Honours System recognises outstanding achievement and contribution by Australians in a range of fields, including:

  • service to the community
  • education
  • business
  • sport
  • arts
  • acts of bravery
  • notable service in the emergency services and the public service.

Award categories

Trò chơi xổ số Việt NamThe awards system comprises 4 medals:

  • Order of Australia (recognising outstanding service by an individual, this is the highest award)
  • Australian Bravery Decorations
  • National Medal
  • Long Service awards.

How to apply

To nominate someone:

  • phone—1800 552 275 or +61 2 6283 3604
  • download a nomination form from the website.

State funerals

State funerals are arranged and funded by the Government to honour prominent people for their outstanding achievement and distinguished service to the community.

Traditionally, they were held to honour certain high-ranking public officials; however, it is possible to honour other prominent Queenslanders—this is the Premier’s decision.

Trò chơi xổ số Việt NamThe deceased person’s family or next-of-kin must accept the offer of a State funeral if it is to happen, or they can choose to hold a private funeral instead.